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Board of Opticianry 

Board Certification Application Instruction 
 

 

Please note: You must be licensed as an optician in the State  

   of Florida to qualify for Board Certification. 
 

A board certified optician may independently fill, fit, adapt or dispense soft contact lenses. 

 

To become a Board Certified Optician pursuant to Section 484.002(6), Florida Statutes, and Rule Chapter 

64B12-14, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), please submit the following:  

 

1. A completed and signed board certification application.  Please type or print clearly in black ink. 

 

2. A check or money order made payable to the Department of Health in the amount of $50.  The 

application fee to become a board certified optician is non-refundable. 

 

3. Proof of satisfactory completion of a Board approved 20-hour board certification course as specified in 

Rule 64B12-14.004, F.A.C. (i.e., copy of certificate of completion or official transcript).  You may 

view a list of Board approved providers and courses on our web site at 

www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/opticianry.  

 

4. If you obtained your Florida optician license prior to September 1985, you must submit a copy of your 

score sheet from the NCLE showing the date you passed the examination.  Do not send the NCLE 

certificate.   

 

5. Mail the application, fee and required documentation to:  
 

Department of Health 

Board of Opticianry 

P. O. Box 6330 

Tallahassee, FL  32314-6330 
 

You will be notified in writing within thirty days of the status of your application. 
 

Board of Opticianry 

4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C08 

Tallahassee, FL  32399-3258 

Telephone: (850) 245-4474     FAX: (850) 921-5389 

www.floridasopticianry.gov  
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BOARD OF OPTICIANRY (2001) 

BOARD CERTIFICATION APPLICATION 
Please Type or Print Clearly in black ink. 

 

Name _____________________________________________________________________________ 
    Last    First    Middle 

Mailing Address  ____________________________________________________________________ 

 

City _________________________________________ State ____________ Zip _________________ 
 

License Number:  DO ______________________  Is your license active?  Yes     No 
 

Has any disciplinary action been taken against your license? Yes     No 
 

Is your license currently under investigation? Yes     No 
 

Have you passed the National Contact Lens Examination (NCLE)?  Yes     No 

If licensed prior to September 1985, you must submit a copy of your NCLE score sheet. 
 

Date you competed the 20-Hour Certification Course _______________________________ 
 

You must submit documentation verifying you completed the 20-hour certification course.  

To ensure up-to-date training, applicants for Board Certification must complete the course 

within a period of no more than two years prior to application for board certification. 
 

Name of the board certification course provider ___________________________________________ 

 

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely 

without reservations of any kind, and I declare that my answers and all statements made by me herein 

are true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information on this application, I hereby agree that such 

act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of any license to practice in the State of 

Florida the profession for which I am applying.  I state that I am the person referred to in the foregoing 

application.  I further state that I will comply with all requirements for licensure renewal in effect at the 

time of license renewal including submission of appropriate renewal fees and continuing education 

credits. 

I understand that I am under a continuing obligation to keep informed of any changes to Chapters 456 & 

484, Part I, F.S., and related rules and hereby state my license to practice Opticianry in the State of 

Florida is not subject to any current disciplinary action. 
 

 

_______________________________________________________ ________________________ 
Applicant's Signature    Date 
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CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC RECORDS 
DISCLOSURE * 

 
 
 

Florida Department of Health 
Board of Opticianry 

 
Board Certification Application 

 
 
 
 
 

Name:  _____________________________________________________ 
    Last    First    Middle 
 
 

Social Security Number:  ______________________________________ 
 

 

*This page is exempt from public records disclosure. The 
Department of Health is required and authorized to collect 
Social Security Numbers relating to applications for 
professional licensure pursuant to Title 42 USCS § 666 
(a)(13).  For all professions regulated under chapter 456, 
Florida Statutes, the collection of Social Security Numbers is 
required by Section 456.013(1)(a), and 456.013(12), Florida 
Statutes. 

 


